Skip to main content

NATO LIBRARY HOMEPAGE | NATO LIBGUIDES | CATALOG | MY ACCOUNT

NATO Multimedia Library: Databases

               

COUNTRY REPORTS

Onsite resources (available to staff within NATO HQ)

EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) Country Reports

  • 79 Country Reports (assessments and forecasts of the political, economic and business climate).

IHS Jane's

  • Access to full text articles in the military domain, from some of IHS Jane's online products (e.g. Defence Industry, Defence Weekly, International Defence Review, etc.).
  • IHS Jane's also includes yearbooks (Fighting Ships, All the World's Aircraft, etc.), Intelligence Briefings and Country Risk Reports.

Oxford Analytica Daily Brief

  • Analysis of emerging trends and developments in the global political economy, offering qualitative guidance on their impact.
  • Delivered via email and online every business day.

Open-access resources

Four categories of databases, providing:

Military reports

The Global Firepower database is based largely on each nation's potential conventional war-making capability across land, sea and air. The final ranking incorporates values related to resources, finances and geography and over 50 different factors make up the final GFP ranking, delivering the "PowerIndex" value with bonuses and penalties applied where appropriate. Updates to the list are attempted annually or when new information / corrections warrant them.

The search is firstly done by topic, however, clicking on a country’s flag will redirect the user to the chosen country’s profile.

How to:

In order to access the Global Firepower database click the link to the database, then scroll down to the topics and sub-topics on which information is provided. Click on the sub-topic of your choice and you will be redirected to its page.

In order to access information about a certain country, click on the country’s flag, which will redirect you to its profile.

The SIPRI databases provide recent raw information on: Military Expenditure, Arms Transfers, Arms Embargoes, as well as a list of National reports for 35 countries on Arms exports.

How to:

In order to navigate in the SIPRI databases click the link to the database, then click on the desired database (note: the Multilateral Peace Operations Database is currently not publicly available), then choose the year, country or type of report that you are interested in (depending on the character of the available information).

Vision of Humanity’s Global Peace Index is a highly comprehensive and interactive database with recent data and a great number of indicators, from perceptions of criminality, to terrorism impact, deaths from internal and external conflicts, internal and external conflicts fought, data on weapons, displaced people and armed services personnel.

The Global Peace Index database focuses on the major issues facing the 21st century and it tries to bring a balanced approach with factual information that is positive and solution based.

How to:

In order to access the Global Peace Index database click on the database link, then click on “See the latest Peace news and Research”. You will be redirected to the newest issued report.

In order to access the global data click on “Indexes” in the main menu, then select “Global Peace Index”. Click on the country of your choice on the world map. To see the full statistics, click on the “Full Stats” button in the Country menu.

For a more accurate result, click on “Select country” or “Specify indicator”, buttons which are located under the main menu, on the right hand side.

Political reports

This database is provided by the Office of the Historian, US Department of State.

It provides historical reference information on aspects of the United States’ relations with the countries of the world. The central component is a guide to matters of diplomatic recognition and the establishment and maintenance of diplomatic relations between the United States and states of the world, from 1776 to the present.

FIRST 3.0 is a service provided by the International Relations and Security Network (ISN) and Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI).

The database covers armed conflicts and peacekeeping, arms production and trade, military expenditures, armed forces and conventional weapons holding, nuclear weapons, chronology, statistics, etc

Tip:

The database provides extensive military data such as weapon production, planned military activities, arms embargoes, arms control and disarmament agreements, conflict barometer, major armed conflicts, multilateral peace operations and military expenditure.

How to:

In order to navigate in the FIRST 3.0 database click the link to the database, then choose a country from the dropdown menu located in the “Select a country and dataset(s) to search” box, then choose the variables which interest you from the available datasets.

After you’ve chosen all your desired variables, click “Search” in the “Select a country and dataset(s) to search” box.

Freedom House is an independent watchdog organization dedicated to the expansion of freedom and democracy around the world.

The Freedom House database provides reports in various areas such as: Freedom of the Net (starting with 2011), Freedom of the World (starting with 1998), Freedom of the Press (starting with 2002),
Nations in Transit (starting with 2003), Countries at the Crossroads (starting with 2004) and Women’s Rights in the Middle East and North Africa (starting with 2010).

How to:

In order to navigate on and access the Freedom House reports, click the link to the database, scroll down and check under “Signature Reports”. From there, choose a year for the report you are interested in and the website will automatically direct you to the desired report.

Alternatively, click on one of the Report names for more details about it, the raw data and a suggestive map.

The search is done by topic, and each report has data for each country individually.

Human Rights Watch reports provide detailed information concerning human rights issues such as freedom, abuses (of various sorts), as well as human rights defenders for 87 countries worldwide.

The database provides a yearly World Report, as well as essays written by experts in human rights.

How to:

In order to navigate in the database click the link to the database, then click on the “Choose” dropdown menu in the “Browse countries” box. To access an extended report, scroll down to find the “World Report” cover and press the “Download” button under it. This will open a new tab in your browser where the World Report will be downloaded.

Transparency International provides country reports with data concerning corruption and good governance, as well general data such as the population number, GDP, infant mortality rate, life expectancy and literacy rate.

The Transparency International database presents survey results, as well as Transparency International reports and articles concerning any desired country in an interactive manner.

How to:

To access the Transparency International data*, click the link to the database then hover over the world map with your mouse until you find the country you’re interested in. Click the country and the data will show up under the map.

The search in this database is done by topic.

* Make sure your Adobe Flash Player is updated in order to be able to access the world map.

Economic reports

The Coface Country Risk Assessments include 160 Country Assessments containing the latest reports, current year data, which generally goes back to 2013, as well as risk Assessments for 12 economic sectors from six geographical regions.

The data includes the country’s GDP, Inflation, Budget balance, Current account balance, public debt, its strengths and weaknesses as well as an in-depth risk assessment.

The 12 analyzed sectors include: Agrifood, Automotive, Chemicals, Construction, Energy, ICT, Metals, Paper-Wood, Pharmaceuticals, Retail, Textile and Transportation.

The website interface allows the user to explore country data in depth, as well as compare countries of their choice.

How to:

The Coface database is accessible through two points (available on the main website, upon clicking the link to the database then scrolling down on its page) each with its own separate box:

  • the “Country Risk Assessment” database – in which, in order to access country reports you have to click on the “Select a country” dropdown menu and then click on “OK” and
  • the “Sector Risk Assessment” database – where you can click on a sector of your choice from the list provided in the box.

Euler Hermes Country Report is an in-depth economic research report that provides reviews of 241 individual countries and territories economic profiles.

This analysis includes sections on economic strengths and weaknesses, country rating based on country grade and country risk level, main activity sectors and trade partners countries, economic forecasts and more.

General information, such as GDP, population, and form of government, is also included to provide a broader understanding of each country to support companies in identifying trade opportunities and associated risk. Euler Hermes releases new reports quarterly.

How to:

The Euler Hermes database is accessible through two points: directly from the world map available on the main website – by clicking on the desired country and then clicking on “Full report” OR by scrolling down to the alphabetical list and searching for the desired country.

European Commission’s Europe 2020 database covers the latest economic reports of the EU member states (2016), as well as an archive of documents dating back to 2009.

Each country report contains an “Economic situation and outlook” introductory chapter, followed by chapters detailing the imbalances, risks and adjustment issues, as well as additional structural issues for each member country of the EU. The reports also include graphs and tables which make it easier for researchers to visualize the information which it’s provided.

How to:

In order to navigate in the Europe 2020 database click the link to the database, then scroll down until you find the country of your choice and click on its specific report.

Alternatively, you can explore the European Commission database by clicking on the “Documents and reports” button on the left hand side ribbon.

The IMF Country information database includes information on 189 countries, members of the organization which is generally updated daily.

Information includes: the financial position of the desired country in the Fund, its transactions with the Fund, economic evaluations and projections, as well as a chronologically ordered list of press releases concerning the desired listed country. 

How to:

To access the IMF database, click the link to the database, then scroll down until you find your country of choice in the alphabetical list and click on its name to open its file.

The World Bank Data database contains graphs, maps and reports on economic issues, as well as detailed data about the chosen country’s projects, their status and results, its World development indicators, global economic prospects, finances, surveys and tackling of climate change issues.

The data contains the latest country information, as well as projections for the future years, and it generally dates back to the early 2000s.

How to:

In order to navigate in the World Bank website, click the link to the database then just click on the country of your choice from the alphabetical list.

Macroeconomic, social, and environmental data from the World Bank: a collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

How to:

In order to navigate in the World Bank website, click the link to the database then just click on the country of your choice from the alphabetical list.

Multi-topic research

CIA’s World Fact Book presents recent raw data about the world countries on topics related to politics, economics, military and international issues.

The website provides numerous other resources, such as essays, occasional papers, an index of books related to the field of Intelligence, as well as world and country maps.

Tip:

Each country report has a “Military and Security” tab with information regarding Military branches, Military service age and obligation, Military expenditures and Terrorist groups.

How to:

To navigate in the CIA World Factbook*, click the link to the database then click on the “Please select a country to view” dropdown menu (located above the world map) and select the country you wish to gather data on. A “World Factbook User Guide” is also available.

* Works best with Mozilla Firefox, Chrome or Opera.

Eurostat offers a very rich database containing varied information regarding the EU member countries. The topics for which data is available range from general statistics, industry, transport, environmental, economy, to agriculture, international trade and science related information.

The website provides information in the form of maps, visualizations of raw data, but also gives its users access to the main tables and databases which were used in creating the said maps.

Research can be done only by topic. However, the website is highly interactive and presents its user with the possibility of exploring data visually. 

How to:

In order to navigate in the Eurostat database, click the link to the database, then click on the “Data” dropdown menu from the blue ribbon and select “Browse statistics by theme”. You can also explore the database by clicking on the other available sub-menus or on the “Publications” dropdown menu.

To see interactive infographics for every dataset check “My country in a Bubble”

Knoema offers a database which compiles data from multiple sources and connects it with analytical and presentation tools.

Its Data atlas consists of data on 198 countries providing recent information such as: maps and rankings on varied topics: economy, demographics, agriculture, crime statistics, education, energy, environment, food security, health, land use, poverty and others.

Tip:

Knoema has a large database on military and national defense. Access it by scrolling down on the country profile of your choice to “National defense” and click on “See more”. For more resources on military topics click on the “Sources” button, or on “Datasets” to connect directly to the raw datasets.

How to:

There are two ways to navigate on Knoema’s data atlas: by country (by clicking the name of the desired country from the alphabetical list) or by topic (by clicking on your topic of choice from the ribbon on the left hand side of the screen).

The OECD database provides varied information and data on its member countries and a compiled set of reports on a large number of countries worldwide.

The data provided includes topics such as: Agriculture, Development, Economy, Education, Energy, Environment, Finance, Government, Health, Innovation and Technology, Jobs and Society and it includes charts, maps and other statistical data.

How to:

To navigate on the OECD page in order to find the country reports, click the link to the database, then click on the “Countries” tab located on the blue ribbon and then choose the desired country from the alphabetical list.

The UN provides country reports and datasets on varied topics, from world health, to food and agriculture and world development.

How to:

To find the datasets that you need, click on the link to the UN website, then look for the fund or specialized program of your choice. Click on its website and look for the “Data” or “Countries” button usually located in the main page menu.

MY ACCOUNT   |   CATALOG   |   NATO LIBGUIDES   |   JOURNAL TITLES   |   ASK A QUESTION